Frequently Asked Questions

Gluten

Do oats contain gluten?

Gluten is the name given to the protein in wheat, rye, barley and oats that affect
people with Coeliac disease. It is a composite name representing –

  • Gliadin in Wheat
  • Hordein in Barley
  • Secalin in Rye
  • Avenin in Oats

The current tests for gluten can measure gliadin, hordein, and secalin but not avenin as it is a slightly different protein.

For more about gluten click here.